CNGA COLORADO NURSERY AND GREENHOUSE ASSOCIATION

CNGA Award Winners

Annually CNGA accepts nominations for consideration for the following awards. Members nominate individuals (more than one per award is allowed) for the award listed below. Here is a compilation of all past winners.

Hall of Fame: Is a prestigious award presented to an individual who, throughout their career, has demonstrated leadership and commitment to the industry resulting in overall improvements to the industry.

2022 – Debi Borden-Miller, Colorado Nursery & Greenhouse Association; David Salman, High Country Gardens (posthumously)

2021 - Ron Arpin, Little Valley Wholesale Nursery; Dennis Hill, Bookcliff Gardens

2020 – Andrew Lisignoli, NMCNP, Trees of Corrales; Michelle Krumdieck, CCNP, Sunshine Horticulture (posthumously)

2019 - Ray Daugherty, CCNP, Front Range Community College

2018 - None submitted

2017 - Kent Broome, Baxter Nursery

2016 - Kevin Laman, Bath, Inc. & Al Gerace, Welby Gardens

2015 – Steve Echter, Echters Greenhouses & Tom Halverstadt, Arbor Valley Nursery

2014- Les Ratekin, Ratekin Enterprises

2013 - Sharon Harris, CNGA & Don Dykstra - Dalor Enterprises

2012 - John Pinder, Little Valley Wholesale Nursery

2011- Gene Pielin, Gulley Greenhouse & Dale De Jacamo, James Nursery

2010 - Frank Yantorno - Center Greenhouse & Mike Jeronimus - Boxelder Creek Nursery

2009 - Mike Gilsdorf, Arapahoe Acres & Thomas Bath, Bath, Inc.

2008 - Dave Edmundson, Arbor Valley Nursery

2007 - Merle Moore & Gary Epstein, Fort Collins Wholesale Nursery

2006 - Carl Anderson, Arapahoe Acres Nursery & George Brinkmann

2005 - Panayoti Kelaidis, Denver Botanic Gardens

2004 - Robert Heath, RRH, Inc.

2003 - Jake Spahn, The Tree Farm

2002 - Stan Brown, Jr., Alameda Wholesale Nursery & Mike Paulino, Paulino Gardens

2001 - Ken Jeronimus, Green Acres Nursery

2000 - Daryl Hall

1999 - Rick Schubert, Rick's Nursery & Jim O'Shea

1998 - Don Frazier, Greenside Nursery & Landscaping

1997 - Betty & Glen Bechtholdt

1996 - Billie Harding, Harding's Nursery & Jim Burns

1995 - Cary & Judie Hall

1994 - Harold Ehmann, Deck Brady, Bea Blair & Ed Settle

1993 - John Malik

1992 - Charles Weddle & Leonard Woodman

1991 - Lucille Beilhartz, Marvin Wood & Alvoy Ekblad

1990 - Carlisle Ferguson, Steven H. James & Larry E. Watson, Plants for Today & Tomorrow

1989 - Wayne Nuzum, Ken Wilmore & Kenny Sampley

1988 - Steve Driftmier & Dr. James Klett, Colorado State University

- 1987 Art Langman & Clara Wieder
- 1986 Robert Woodman & Harry Swift
- 1984 Gilbert Hall
- 1981 Stan Brown, Sr., Alameda Wholesale Nursery
- 1980 Gene Eyerly
- 1975 Dr. James Feucht, Pat Gallavan, Herb Gundell, George Kelly, A.R. Langman, Sr., Charles
- Wilmore & Scott Wilmore
- 1966 George Amidon
- 1960 Noel Wygant, Virgil Johnson
- 1955 D.W. Spangler

CNGA Person on the Year: Recognizes an individual who in the last 12 months has made a positive impact on the regional horticulture industry through their involvement, actions or participation in the promotion of professionalism, creativity and involvement for the betterment of the industry.

- 2022 Jack Fetig, Fossil Creek Nursery
- 2021 None submitted
- 2020 Nate Douglas, CCNP, Arbor Valley Nursery; Jeremy Valdez, CCNP, JV Trees; Keith Williamson,
- CCNP, Little Valley Wholesale Nursery
- 2019 Dr. Ajay Menon, Colorado State University
- 2018 Bridget Blomquist, Denver Botanic Gardens
- 2017 Diana Reavis, Eason Horticultural Resources
- 2016 & 2015 None Submitted
- 2014- Gene Pielin, Gulley Greenhouse
- 2013 Laura Pottorff, Colorado Department of Agriculture
- 2012 Brian Vogt Denver Botanic Gardens
- 2011 Pat Hayward, Plant Select
- 2010 Andrew Lisignoli, Trees of Corrales
- 2009 No award presented.
- 2008 Mike Gilsdorf, Arapahoe Acres Nursery
- 2007 Bill Kluth, Tagawa Greenhouses, Inc.
- 2006 Marc Johnson, Colorado State University & Mike Skiff, Arapahoe Acres Nursery
- 2005 John Pinder, Little Valley Wholesale Nursery
- 2004 Harriett McMillan, Echter's Nursery & Garden Center
- 2003 Sharon Harris, Former CNA
- 2002 Tom Cramer
- 2001 Mike Gilsdorf, Arapahoe Acres Nursery
- 2000 Dennis Hill, Bookcliff Gardens
- 1999 Bob Lefevre, James Nursery Company
- 1998 John Pinder, Little Valley Wholesale Nursery
- 1997 Dale DeJacamo, James Nursery Company
- 1996 Don McGirr
- 1995 Keith Williamson, Little Valley Wholesale Nursery
- 1994 Mike Gilsdorf, Arapahoe Acres Nursery
- 1993 Gary Epstein, Fort Collins Wholesale Nursery
- 1992 Pat Hayward
- 1991 & 1989 Don Dykstra, Dalor Enterprises
- 1987 Steve Driftmier

1986 - Robert Woodman

1980 - Don Ida & Don Weaver

1976 - Gilbert Hall

1973 - Herb Gundell

Horizon Award: Acknowledges an individual who has been in the industry less than five years, exhibits the qualities and high standards exemplifying CNGA, and during that time has made a significant contribution to a CNGA firm.

2022 – Megan Brown, Alameda Wholesale Nursery; Emily Helmus, CCNP, CGG, Arbor Valley Nursery; Emily McAuley, CGG, Denver Botanic Gardens – Chatfield Farms

2021 – Carol Clifford, James Nursery; Gracyn Kanan, CCNP, Echter's Nursery & Garden Center; Molly Kincaid, CCNP, Fort Collins Wholesale Nursery

2020 – Craig Breuker, Pine Lane Nursery; Pixie Caballero, Echter's Nursery & Garden Center; Jessica McCool, Little Valley Wholesale Nursery; Alex Norell, Gulley Greenhouse

2019 - Corrine Bostrom, Arbor Valley Nursery

2019 - Kathleen McGuar, Plantivity

2018 - Daniel Corse, CCNP, Echter's Nursery & Garden Center

2018 - Julie Echter, Echter's Nursery & Garden Center

2018 - Michael Schleining, Arbor Valley Nursery

2018 - Brian Steele, Britton Nursery

2018 - Melissa Streitmatter, Fort Collins Nursery

2018 - Kevin Williams, Denver Botanic Gardens

2017 – Sarah Wong Cooper, Silver Sage Garden Center

2017 - Shannon Eversley, Fort Collins Nursery

2017 - Alex Tisthammer, Fort Collins Nursery

2016 - Caitlin Bird, Fort Collins Nursery

2015 - Whitney McMillan, Echters Nursery & Garden Center

2014 - Matthew Cunningham, Britton Nursery

2013 - no recipient

2012 - Angie Hughes, Hughes Nursery& Jeremy Friedman - Brown's Greenhouse

2011 - Michelle Heronema; Nick Gerace, Welby Gardens; & Peter Mendicino, Arbor Valley Nursery

2010 - Quinn Farrington, Echter's Nursery & Garden Center

2009 - Michelle Cadena, Fort Collins Wholesale Nursery

2008 - Kerri Griess Dantino, Plants for Today & Tomorrow & Ken Cline, Arapahoe Acres Nursery

2007 - Joe Haskett, James Nursery Company & Devon Hukill, Country Fair at WestWoods

2006 - Celia Tannehill, Fort Collins Nursery & Katrina Leese, Center Greenhouse

2005 - Kelly Foster, Cherry Creek Tree Farms & Mary Jane Sosler, Arapahoe Acres Nursery

2003 - Thomas Gallegos & Antonio Mendez

2001 - William Howell

2000 - Marcy Edwards

1999 - Tanya Bruno

1997 - Nancy Furman

1996 - Debi Shaw

1995 - Betsy Baldwin-Owens, Sun Chaser Natives

1994 - August "Ned" Noack

1992 - Richard Edmundson

1991 - Jan Tunner

1989 - Don Anderson 1988 - Rosalee Janssen

2018 – Bobbi Sexton, Harding Nursery

Exemplary Service: Given to an individual who is in the industry and employed by a CNGA Member firm. This individual exhibits the qualities and high standards exemplifying CNGA, has made a significant contribution to a CNGA firm and represents the best of the industry.

2022 – Dan Gerace, Welby Gardens/Hardy Boy Plants; Ben Northcutt, Colorado Nursery & Greenhouse Association; Diana Reavis, Eason Horticultural Resources
2021 – Ezequiel Villanueva, CGG, Global Green Education; Young Hort Professionals Group – Ashley Brinegar, Botany Lane Greenhouse; Nicolette Malfitano, Tagawa Greenhouse Enterprises; Michael Schleining, CCNP, Arbor Valley Nursery; Jason Shimmel, CCNP, Arbor Valley Nursery
2020 – Jim Mueller, CPS Distributors; Ross Shrigley, Plant Select
2019 – Tracey Tonning, Alameda Wholesale Nursery
2018 – John Navant, CCNP, Highland Hills Park & Recreation District